Inspiration

I Wasn’t Built To Give Up.

Does my calmness annoy you?
Does it bother you?
The way I can be so calm
In the face of trouble?
I’m not sorry.
I wasn’t built to
waver.

Does my resilience bother you?
Does it make you raise a brow?
The way I pick myself back up
Every single time I fall.
The way I clean the red liquid
Off the sides of my mouth
And move on.
I have no apologies.
I was not built to stay down.

image

Does my fortitude displease you?
This my resolve to push on
No matter what life throws at me?
This my inner strength that
manages to summon
Courage in the face of adversity?
I’m not sorry.
I wasn’t built to give up.

Does my perseverance bother you?
The way I can continue to push ahead
Without getting discouraged?
Does it annoy you?
The way I can carry on
Without letting failures push me down?
I have no apologies
I was not built to tremble.

I have not come this far
To go this far
If I fall down seven times,
I’ll stand up the eighth one.
I was not built to give up.

17 thoughts on “I Wasn’t Built To Give Up.”

  1. I searched for the sadness in this piece but the shadows kept slipping away from my fingers.The interrogative style effuses rather inspiration and invigoration.Lovely piece Dhebbie.Would love to see more poems from you(yeah,cos I am a poet lol)

    Like

What do you think?

