Bookish Stuff

The 9-Questions Book Tag.

Hi guys! How are y’all doing?
My friend, Omobola over at Book Lyf tagged me to answer some book related questions and
that’s what today’s post is about.
Shall we?

1Q. A book you started but never finished but want to finish.

Ans: Ha. This is an easy one. It definitely has to be Eleanor and Park. I’d read it but The Stronger People took my phone away so I couldn’t finish. I’ve gotten it again and I’ll finish it this time.

2Q.  What elements attracts you to a book?

Ans: The promise of an exciting adventure will make me pick up almost any book. The blurb of a book is very important to me. If it promises to be funny or weird or sad, I might just buy it.

3Q.  Which books do you prefer, e-copy or hard copy?

Ans: I generally prefer a copy I can hold, hug and smell. (come on, I’m not as strange as you think 😁) This is why I’d pick the hard copy over its brother. But books are getting a tad too expensive nowadays, and I’d probably cry if I spend a lot on a book I end up not liking. This is why I sometimes read the soft copy first and buy it if I like it.

4Q. What book are you currently reading?

Ans: I’m ashamed to say that I’m still reading Salem Falls by Jodi Picoult. It’s taking too long and life keeps getting in my way. Epic Reads is organising a reading marathon that starts on Friday where readers are supposed to breeze through 10 books in 10 days. Phew. I hope it’ll be a push in the right direction or a shove, in my case.

image

5Q. Is it fair to judge a book by its film?

Ans: not at all. I think it’s almost a fact that movie adaptations are generally underwhelming versions of the book. If I see a movie made based on a book before I read it, I’ll probably expect more, not less. I hope this makes sense.

6Q.  What book did you badly judge by its cover and ended up loving?

Ans : Me Before You. I thought to myself “ughh.. Ewwwwhh. I don’t like mushy mushy stuff “. And another round of “I don’t think it’ll be interesting. It’s so cheesy”. I ended up loving this book so much. Will broke my fictional heart and it still hurts. I’m not even lying.

7Q. Which book character have you felt the most kin and can relate a lot to?

Ans: Kambili. I read Purple Hibiscus in junior high school and I loved it. I could relate to her a lot. In a way, I think I’m like her a bit. I’m not going to elaborate, but you get the drift, yeah?

8Q. How long have you stayed without reading a book?

Ans:  1-2 months. Please don’t judge me. I almost didn’t read any book last semester. I read a lot of articles,a bit of poetry and occasionally, some short stories or flash fiction written by my cool writer friends.

9Q.  Do you ever have book hangovers?

Ans: The last time I checked, I was human. Of course, I do. When I was reading A Thousand Splendid Suns, I had a huge hangover after I finished Chapter 6. I laid on the floor and refused to get up for about 45 minutes. It was that heartbreaking.

That’s all, guys.
Which of these can you relate to?

9 thoughts on “The 9-Questions Book Tag.”

  1. Anne rice – the vampire chronicles
    Usually the author
    Hard copy, I love the smell of books. Besides they are easier to read
    The city of heavenly fire, the final installment of the mortal instrument series
    Not at all, most movies dont do the books justice
    None actually, I rarely pay attention to book covers
    Artemis fowl from eion (pronounced Owen) colfers Artemis fowl series. I’m not a genius but I can relate to his deviant odd self
    Too long
    Yup yup I can’t remember the book but yeah

    Like

  2. Interesting! but more interesting is I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned here. Makes me wonder what I have been reading all along. Nice one girl

    Like

    1. Hello Micheal! You sure have been reading as much as you thought, you probably should just read outside your favourite genres. Reading diversely makes it all better. Thank you for commenting!

      Like

  3. Well, I’m far from a Bookworm but I do really love the smells of Books. Currently reading ‘You Must Set Forth at Dawn’ by W. Soyinka, and it’s taking like forever. And yeah Movie adaptations can never match the Book versions.

    Like

  4. I just finished reading ‘The Importance of being Earnest’ by Oscar Wilde and I loved it.

    Which reader doesn’t truly prefer hard copy – the smell and the feel.

    I have been reading a book for close to a year now 🙈.

    ‘A thousand splendid suns’ – I have heard of this book and some others from the same author. I just need someone to bless me with a copy.

    Like

What do you think?

